The Commonwealth countries with which Canada has trade agreements providing for exchange of preferential rates are: Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Guyana, British Honduras, Jamaica, the Leeward and Windward Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, New Zealand, Britain and its dependent territories and the members of the former Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland (Malawi, Rhodesia and Zambia). Canada also exchanges preferences with Ceylon, Cyprus, Malaysia, Malta and Sierra Leone and accords preferences to India. Pakistan, Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. Many of these countries are also members of the GATT. In addition, Canada has trade agreements with Ireland and South Africa under which preferences are exchanged.

Canada signed the Protocol of Provisional Application of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade on Oct. 30, 1947, and brought the General Agreement into force on Jan. 1, 1948. The Agreement provides for scheduled tariff concessions and the exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment among the contracting parties, and lays down rules and regulations to govern the conduct of international trade.

At the beginning of September 1966, there were 70 full members in the GATT. These countries and the effective dates of their accession are indicated in the following list. In addition, Argentina, Iceland, Tunisia and the United Arab Republic were provisional members. The GATT is applied on a *de facto* basis to a number of newly independent states—Algeria, Democratic Republic of Congo, Maldive Islands, Mali, Singapore and Zambia—pending decisions as to their future commercial policies; Cambodia and Poland, although not members, participate in the work of GATT.

Trade relations between Canada and a number of other countries are governed by trade agreements of various kinds, by exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment under Orders in Council, by continuation to newly independent states of the same treatment originally negotiated with the countries previously responsible for their commercial relations, and by even less formal arrangements.

Country	Agreement	Tariff Treatment
Australia	Trade Agreement signed Feb. 12, 1960; in force June 30, 1960. GATT effective Jan. 1, 1948.	Agreement includes schedules of tariff rates and margins and exchange of British preferential rates on items not scheduled. May be terminated on six months notice.
BRITAIN	Trade Agreement signed Feb. 23. 1937, effective Sept. 1, 1937; modified by exchanges of letters Nov. 16, 1938 and Oct. 20, 1947. GATT effective Jan. 1, 1948.	
Ceylon	Relations continue to be governed by Trade Agreement of 1937 with Britain. GATT effective July 29, 1948.	Canada and Ceylon exchange preferential tariff treatment.
Commonwealth Caribbean (Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Honduras, the Leeward Islands, and the Windward Islands).	Canada-British West Indies Trade Agree- ment signed July 6, 1925, in force Apr. 30, 1927; Canadian notice of termina- tion of Nov. 23, 1938, was replaced by notice of Dec. 27, 1939, which con- tinued the Agreement. Protocol signed July 8, 1966 continues ad interim and amends Part I of the Canada-British West Indies Trade Agreement; termi- nates Part II of that Agreement and incorporates a number of additional provisions. Barbados, Bermuda, Brit- ish Honduras and the Leeward and the Windward Ialands participate in GATT.	preferences.

Tariff and Trade Arrangements with Commonwealth Countries as at Sept. 15, 1966